Apply for The People's Maps Commission

The application period to serve on the People's Maps Commission has closed.

The People’s Maps Commission will consist of the people of our state—not elected officials, not lobbyists, not political party officials. We are asking you, the people of Wisconsin, to engage in our democracy and help draw fair, impartial maps for the Legislature to vote on in 2021.


There will be nine Wisconsinites selected to be members of the People’s Maps Commission. Eligibility requirements for the People's Maps Commission include:

  • 18 years of age or older
  • A Wisconsin resident
Members will include:
  • One person from each of Wisconsin’s eight Congressional Districts
  • One African American member
  • One Latinx member
  • One member from a Tribal Nation
Members may not be:
  • Registered as a lobbyist in the last 5 years
  • A declared candidate for a local, state, or federal elected office
  • A state public official as defined by Wis. Stat. § 19.42(14)
  • A local public official as defined by Wis. Stat. § 19.42(7x)
  • An officer or member of the governing body of a local, state, or national political party
  • Applicants with explicitly racist or discriminatory online or social media involvement that demonstrates an inability to treat all Wisconsinites in a fair manner are ineligible.

Selection Process

All eligible applicants will be provided to the Selection Panel. The Selection Panel is made of up three retired judges:

  • Justice Janine Geske - Geske served as judge from 1981 to 1993 on the Milwaukee County Circuit Court. In 1993, Governor Tommy Thompson appointed Geske to the Wisconsin Supreme Court where she served until 1998.
  • Judge Joseph Troy - Troy was elected to the Outagamie County Circuit Court bench in 1987. He resigned in 2007 after 20 years as a judge.
  • Judge Paul Higginbotham - Higginbotham served on the Dane County Circuit Court from 1994 until 2003. In 2003, Governor Jim Doyle appointed Higginbotham to the Court of Appeals, District IV, where he served until 2017.

The Selection Panel will review all applications and select the nine voting members of the Commission.